My Role in the Game of Life

I slipped my arms out of my suit jacket, stripped off my navy tie, and began undoing each button as I paced towards the 1990 Ford Truck I had rented for the day. I hauled down to San Menlo, California earlier that morning, about 6:00 a.m., to interview for a senior accounting position. I slicked back my hair earlier that morning in order to tame it. As I peered into the side mirror, I didn’t recognize whom I was facing.

The interview was engaged with a very formal firm. My interviewers appeared very professional and portrayed the stereotypical business look: polished, clean-shaven, well spoken, and unauthentic. I’ve been in this environment before, a few months ago, but it felt unaligned with who I am now: the clothes, the people, and the conversations.

I veered out of the parking lot feeling assured in my interview abilities but uneasy about my imminent fate. A cringe surfaced along my face when I stepped foot back into an office; corporate gigs just feel unaligned with my authenticity. The people, who I come in contact with, actually enjoy their jobs and duties. On the other hand, it’s a real drag for me just to complete the day. After my period of performing corporate work and even longer periods of introspection, I acknowledge that I am not one of them.

An hour or so later, I’m wandering down the sidewalk with a thick super burrito in hand, heading towards the Santa Cruz beach. I pass stragglers lounging on the side of the curb, landscapers trimming the lawns of the wealthy, and servers tending to the demands of tourists. These roles in life are a few of my alternatives if I choose to not pursue and land down an office occupation. With them, one has the benefit of spending most of his or her day outdoors. However, I would remain unfulfilled with my work. Whether it is my conditioning or an innate trait, I believe my work in the future needs to be more impactful. Every man needs to be something, but it is up to him to decipher and develop who that is.

wordpress-10-4-5wordpress-10-4-4

Leave a Reply

