Another Day

Nearing sunset I looped around the narrow, tree-filled park smacked in the middle between two bustling streets. Individuals and couples were biking, walking their dogs, and moseying around similar to me. Another day here, on planet earth, was concluding in a similar fashion as the day before. Problems and personal dilemmas remain constant, but we live on for another day full of wonder.

Needless to say, there’s ample controversy surrounding our newly elected president. I overheard citizens on the street forecasting for the worst, when nothing has occurred yet so far. With that, it coincides with my decision dilemma that I posted about yesterday. I was worrying and stressing too much about the future, and in turn, it took value away from the present.

Alan Watts, renowned philosopher, once stated, “No work or love will flourish out of guilt, fear or hollowness of heart, just as no valid plans for the future can be made by those who have no capacity for living now.” Therefore, I must pursue and engage in my interests full-heartedly now, and allow them to lead me to my future. One’s present moment and future will only deteriorate by drifting in thoughts and attempting to cement later plans.

I shuffled forward down the winding walking path, snapping photos of anything catching my eye. The moon peeked over a bare tree. Cars and bikers were whizzing by. And the earth continued to spin, at least, for another day.

11-10-16-wordpress11-10-16-wordpress-311-10-16-wordpress-2

Leave a Reply

