Library Card

I was stationed at a long table against the white-brick wall in the public library, with a view of the empty basketball-courts behind back. An older librarian was to my left, sifting through the reserved books and calling her co-workers dumbasses under her breath–it was quite comical. I was trying to warm-up my mind to get to the point of putting words down on paper–in an artful way, of course. Then, my phone was buzzing on top of my satchel; it was a call from my friend, Ryan. I went outside to take it.

I returned back to the table after a conversation full of non-stop laughter and two minds working together. Thirty minutes later, I received a text from him, reading: “I couldn’t stop laughing for twenty minutes after getting off the phone hahah.” At that moment, my words were flowing on to the paper with ease.

We each know certain people who just understand us and make work effortless when together. It’s almost as if the two people finish one another’s sentences. I’ve only encountered one person who I am able to do that with, especially when it’s in reference to humor.

I leaned back in my navy-cushioned chair and giggled through my reread of my recent story. Bursts of laugher erupted and echoed in the still library. It’s true–“Having fun isn’t hard when you’ve got a library card.”

img_2857

5 thoughts on “Library Card

      1. I made annual Mecca-like road trips to the dunes from Denver in the 90s. There was no visitor’s center then and you were lucky if the primitive bathrooms were even open.

        February was the best month because: 1. Almost zero tourists; 2. No Medano Creek to ford; and 3. It could be freezing down at the parking lot but the sun turned the first few dune summits into nice heat sinks that you could spread out on like a cat and nap.

        Also, running down the sand and making it squee.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nice–It’s still pretty barren out there. I visited in May, driving a Subaru Crosstrek. I was under impression my car had all-wheel-drive but it did not. I got stuck in the sand, and fortunately, a caravan of southerners pulled me out with their Jeep Wranglers. Good times! Hope to be back soon.

        Like

      3. Here’s how the resident geologist at the park did it: Let some of the air out of the tires before four-wheelin’, then fill them back up with a portable canister before hitting the blacktop again.

        We took his government truck up the road that flanks the dunes to a spot where one of the longest and steepest-sided dunes dumps right into the creek just to climb it and run down. It may not be there anymore as the whole thing shifts, but if you make it up High Dune, you’ll get 750 feet of drop to play with.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

