The Rain

The rain drops played in harmony as I lie awake in my bed. It was a little past 11 and I was diving into a session of introspection. My thoughts were tangled throughout the day and I had no luck untying one without pulling on the other. In my dark room I finally obtained some peace of mind.

At times, my ego can grab the wheel and steer me whichever way it desires: from routes of low self-esteem to peaks, gazing down at the world. Nonetheless, it’s quite draining, being tossed back and forth between highs and lows. Last night, I finally rebalanced myself to a grounded level: being present.

Society portrays certain expectations of one another. Moreover, it’s more accessible than ever to compare yourself to everyone out there. With that, the ego returns back into the mix, dictating your self-esteem once again. Since I’m in an in-between stage and changing career paths, I sometimes overwhelm myself with added pressure to hurry and catch up; instead, of just being present and enjoying my new endeavors.

The rain drops do not race but rather plummet at their own individual paces, remaining in harmonious sync. The final few drops are soothing, fading out the beautiful tune. I lie there, not expecting more but enjoying the subsequent silence. With that, I doze off.

wordpress-12-7-16

One thought on “The Rain

  1. ‪This is well written! 👌🏼‬
    ‪Happy to connect 💕‬
    ‪Do check out my writings too, will appreciate your views! ☺️‬
    ‪https://revaparihar.wordpress.com/2016/12/02/ego/‬

    ‪https://revaparihar.wordpress.com/2016/04/04/disconnect/‬

    Like

Leave a Reply

