Invisible Pull

“Well, I guess I’ll never see you again. So, this is it.” Heather said as she reached forward for a hug.

“I’ll be back around the holidays next year, and I’ll stop in, for sure.” I said as I stepped forward.

Heather has been cutting my hair for the past four years; she practically trims all of my family members’ hair. Over this span, my personality and interests have expanded, as well as the length of my hair. When I informed her I was moving to California, she had a gut feeling I was moving there. She said it was time.

Although I seldom see Heather–my last haircut was 7 months ago–I relish the relationship we shared. As I mentioned in a previous post, I had the chance to say bye to my former supervisor, Kiran. Nevertheless, I won’t have the opportunity to meet with everyone before I leave.

After graduating college, I’ve met a lot of people at music festivals and other events who I’ve stayed in contact with. Unfortunately, California is on the complete opposite side of the country, accordingly, our contact will now be further limited: especially because of my absent social-media presence. With that, it adds a disappointing touch to my departure as this chapter in my life slowly closes shut.

But it’s always mystical how people reconnect in life. It’s almost as if there’s an attractive, invisible force pulling us closer. Therefore, I’m sure I’ll see a lot of these people again….wherever that might be.

wordpress-12-23-16

Leave a Reply

